CGL Syllabus, Exam Pattern, Selection Process – Check SSC CGL Revised Exam Pattern & Syllabus

By | July 4, 2016

SSC CGL 2016 Revised Exam Pattern, Syllabus, Selection Process: Staff Selection Commission has made some changes in SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2016 which candidates should keep in mind and prepare for the Combined Graduate Level exam, according to that. The SSC CGL Syllabus 2016 would remain same as before. In a recent notification, SSC has also changed the SSC CGL Selection Process 2016. Here we are updating you with the SSC CGL Revised Scheme 2016 in this article. Candidates should note down that SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam 2016 is being held from 27th August 2016.

SSC CGL Exam 2016 Revised Scheme: Exam Pattern, Syllabus and Selection Process

Now on, from 2016, SSC CGL Exam would take a different shape. Still, applicants have approx one and a half month to prepare well according to the SSC CGL 2016 New Pattern. Go through this article on SSC CGL Exam 2016 to know more about the SSC CGL 2016 Revised Pattern.

SSC CGL 2016 Exam Pattern

The whole process of selection includes 4 rounds or you can say – 4 Tiers instead of only two (as before). Another major change in the SSC CGL Exam is that from now on it’d be an online computer based exam instead of offline.

***There is no sectional cut off provision in the exam.

  • SSC CGL Tier – 1 : Computer Based Test
  • SSC CGL Tier – 2 : Computer Based Test
  • SSC CGL Tier – 3 : Pen & Paper mode
  • SSC CGL Tier – 4 : Data Entry Skill Test/ Computer Proficiency Test (whichever applicable according to the post)

SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam Pattern 2016: It’d be a computer based online test of 75 minutes including 100 questions of 200 marks. SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam 27th August  has been fixed.

***Negative Marking: For each wrong answer : 0.50

Tier Mode of Exam Scheme of Exam No. of Questions (100) Marks (200) Time
I Computer-based (online) General Intelligence & Reasoning 25 50 75 minutes (Total)
General Awareness 25 50
Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
English Comprehension 25 50

***Exam time For VH and candidates suffering from Cerebral Palsy: 100 Minutes

SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam Pattern 2016: There is no change in SSC CGl Tier 2 exam pattern except one that it’d also be conducted online.

Paper Mode of Exam Subject No. of Questions Max. Marks Time
I Computer Based (online) Quantitative Abilities 100 200 2 hours
II English Language & Comprehension 200 200 2 hours
III Statistics 100 200 2 hours
IV General Studies (Finance and Economics) To be notified later 200 2 hours

***Exam time For VH and candidates suffering from Cerebral Palsy: 2 hours, 40 Minutes

SSC CGL Tier 3 Exam Pattern 2016: This section would be new and applicants of SSC CGL Exam would face it for the first time. This descriptive paper would be a bilingual pen and paper exam of 1 hour, carrying 100 marks. Candidates will have the option to choose the language in which they want to take the exam.

Tier Mode of Exam Scheme of Exam Total Marks Time
3 Pen and Paper Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi (writing of Essay/Letter/Precis/Application Writing etc. 100 60 minutes

***Exam time For VH and candidates suffering from Cerebral Palsy: 80 Minutes

SSC CGL Tier 4 Exam Pattern 2016: Data Entry Skill Test (DEST)/ Computer Proficiency Test (CPT), whichever applicable, would be conducted for the shortlisted candidates.

It’d be just a qualifying test.

Tier Mode of Exam Scheme of Exam Total Marks Time
4 Data Entry Skill Test (DEST)/ , or 2000 key depressions Qualifying 15 minutes
Computer Proficiency Test (CPT)  (whichever applicable) Word Processing, Spreadsheet and Generation of Slides Refer the official notification

SSC CGL Syllabus 2016, Tier 1 & Tier 2 Exam

SSC CGL Tier 1 Syllabus 2016: Questions will be asked from:

  • General Intelligence & Reasoning
  • General Awareness
  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • English Comprehension

SSC CGL Tier 2 Syllabus 2016: Questions will be asked as:

  • Paper -1: Quantitative Ability
  • Paper -2: English Language & Comprehension
  • Paper -3: Statistics
  • Paper -4: General Studies (Finance and Economics)

(Finance and Accounts – 80 marks and Economics and Governance – 120 marks)

Questions in Paper-1 will be of 10th standard level, Paper-2 of 10+2 level and Paper-3 of graduation level.

SSC CGL Tier 3 Syllabus 2016: Essay writing, Letter writing, Application writing, Precis writing.

SSC CGL Tier 4 Syllabus 2016: As given in the above table of exam pattern.

Note: For detailed information and subject wise topics, visit – SSC CGL 2016 Official Exam Syllabus

SSC CGL 2016 Selection Process

  1. Tier – 1: Candidates who have applied for the SSC CGL 2016 would be called for Tier-1 online exam.
  2. Tier – 2: The candidates who qualify the cut off (as per their category) would be called for SSC CGL Tier-2 Exam. Cut off would be decided by the Staff Selection Commission itself.
  3. Tier – 3: Then candidates will have to take the SSC CGL Tier-3 exam – descriptive paper.

Note: SSC CGL Merit List 2016 would be prepared for candidates who qualify Tier – 1, 2 and 3 successfully.

  1. Tier – 4: After that candidates would be called for DEST/CPT (whichever applicable).
  2. Document Verification: Candidates who qualify Tier – 1, 2, 3, 4, they would be called for document verification and if they are found eligible on the basis of their documents, final selection would be made.

For more details visit – SSC CGL 2016 Revised Notification

SSC CGL 2016, New Exam Pattern, Syllabus, Selection Process: SSC has revised the whole structure of SSC CGL Exam 2016. Candidates should hurry in implementing the SSC CGL New Exam Pattern 2016 while preparing. There is no change in SSC CGL Syllabus 2016 but SSC CGL Selection Process 2016 is including a new phase – Tier – 3 (descriptive paper), for which applicants should start from now to get selected in the SSC CGL 2016.

Related Searches:

CGL Application Form

CGL Admit Card

CGL Answer Key

CGL Result

CGL Cut Off

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *